Unusual plays

DJnVa

Dorito Dawg
SoSH Member
Dec 16, 2010
38,000
AB in DC said:
By the way, when I started this thread, I never intended for this to be an "ESPN Not Top Ten" ripoff for just gawking at dumb things that players do.  It was to highlight plays or events that you probably have never seen before that people found cool and interesting.
 
So please consider this a humble request to leave the other stuff for your local social network, or start a new thread or whatever.
 

People seem to be enjoying the thread, so I'm not sure I see the problem here.
 

santadevil

Member
SoSH Member
Aug 1, 2006
4,115
Saskatchestan
I think pretty much everything I've seen in this thread is unusual, or things I haven't seen before. Didn't realize the the OP gets to own the thread and the direction it goes in. Might be some mighty small threads if that was the case.
 

DJnVa

Dorito Dawg
SoSH Member
Dec 16, 2010
38,000
Rice4HOF said:
This isn't quite right. In a situation that you can earn a save, you DO get a blown save if you leave the game after giving up the lead. In last night's game, he entered leading 4-1 and left while still leading 4-3. He left the bases loaded and subsequently 2 of his runners scored, so he got tagged with all 4 runs and the loss, but it was actually the pitcher that came in after him that got the blown save as he was on the mound when the winning run scored. To make it even more unfair, Ziegler actually got credit for a hold because he held the lead (very perilously).

In fact if a reliever comes into the game with a 1 run lead and the bases loaded in the 6th inning and allows a run to score and is replaced, he too will get charged for a blown save as it could have been a save situation if he pitched until the end of the game.

Each game can have many pitchers get holds or blown saves on both teams and at most one with the save. In fact it's possible (but I've never seen it happen) for the same pitcher to get 2 blown saves in 1 game.

Sorry I can talk all day on scoring rules, and how stupid most of them are.
 
 
You are correct. I was misinformed on exactly how the 9th played out. Thanks.
 
I enjoy all the scoring rules as well. Way back when I played adult league I kept voluminous stats over multiple seasons for everyone, making sure everything was tracked correctly. It's amazing how many people that think they know baseball don't understand the rules and think they should not get an AB if they hit a grounder that advances a runner because "It's a sacrifice!!!" and how runs can be unearned for the team but earned for the pitcher, etc.
 
 

DJnVa

Dorito Dawg
SoSH Member
Dec 16, 2010
38,000
Bryce Harper's batting line fits the bill: 0 4 0 1
 
It's the first time in modern baseball that a player has drawn 4 walks, scored 4 times, and had an RBI without an AB.
 
He also didn't swing at any of the 20 pitches he saw.
 

ngruz25

Bibby
SoSH Member
Sep 20, 2005
13,456
Pittsburgh, PA
I know he didn't return to the mound, but didn't the Sox move Javier Lopez to the outfield a few years ago? I think it was in Tampa
 

phrenile

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Aug 4, 2005
9,202
Living off Hope
ngruz25 said:
I know he didn't return to the mound, but didn't the Sox move Javier Lopez to the outfield a few years ago? I think it was in Tampa
Yes. Tampa Bay was leading 8-0 when Lopez started the bottom of the 8th and promptly gave up four runs, making it 12-0. Van Every came in from RF to pitch, and Lopez played out the rest of the inning in RF, watching Van Every allow another of Lopez's base runners score but not giving up any runs of his own.

Nobody wanted to see Lopez retake the mound that day.
 

OfTheCarmen

Cow Humper
Gold Supporter
SoSH Member
Jul 18, 2007
3,443
Thanks for the video, I was really having a hard time envisioning that in my head.
 

normstalls

Member
SoSH Member
Mar 15, 2004
3,307
I thought there was a rules thread...but couldn't find it so I am asking here. Apologies if this is the wrong thread. I couldn't find the answer through my failed Google searches so I thought I would ask the community.

If the Home Umpire checks down to the First Base Umpire for help on a swing/no swing call - is the ball dead during the check (and subsequently must be put back in play by the Home Ump) or does it remain live during the check?

Edit: Thanks DrewDawg, I appreciate it!
 
Last edited:

DJnVa

Dorito Dawg
SoSH Member
Dec 16, 2010
38,000
Ball is live.

Rule 9.02(c):


Baserunners must be alert to the possibility that the base umpire on appeal from the plate umpire


may reverse the call of a ball to the call of a strike, in which event the runner is in jeopardy of being out

by the catcher’s throw. Also, a catcher must be alert in a base stealing situation if a ball call is reversed

to a strike by the base umpire upon appeal from the plate umpire.
 

staz

Intangible
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Dec 2, 2004
13,103
The cradle of the game.
Sox/Tor game last night, Bautista on 2nd, Tulo on 1st, 1 out, Navarro pops to first, Hanley bumps into Tulo before making the catch. Tulo is called out for interference, but Navarro is safe at first.

I was surprise that Navarro was safe at first. I'm guessing that the interference (which happened before Hanley caught the popup) results in a dead ball. So is the official score a interferemce and fielder's choice?

I can't remember ever seeing a batter reach like that.

 

timlinin8th

Member
SoSH Member
Jun 6, 2009
1,521
A unassisted DP was just turned in the OAK game….

By the PITCHER

http://m.mlb.com/video/v1330531783?content_id=1330531783&topic_id=6479266
Ok so here's a strange question that this play makes me think of. Graveman tags Revere and he's out, but when Revere falls down he is then blocking Graveman's path to third base. Why wouldn't that be considered some kind of obstruction call on Revere, considering he is now out and shouldn't even be in the play but he is blocking Graveman's path to third base (albeit entirely unintentionally)?

Yes, this question is influenced by the WS call against Middlebrooks interfering with Craig, because its a similar if opposite play and I was just curious how the rules handle that.
 

VTSox

Well-Known Member
Bronze Supporter
SoSH Member
Jun 27, 2006
220
Ok so here's a strange question that this play makes me think of. Graveman tags Revere and he's out, but when Revere falls down he is then blocking Graveman's path to third base. Why wouldn't that be considered some kind of obstruction call on Revere, considering he is now out and shouldn't even be in the play but he is blocking Graveman's path to third base (albeit entirely unintentionally)?

Yes, this question is influenced by the WS call against Middlebrooks interfering with Craig, because its a similar if opposite play and I was just curious how the rules handle that.
Probably because Graveman made the tag on Pennington. No need for a call
 

SoxJox

Member
SoSH Member
Dec 22, 2003
3,682
Rock > SoxJox < Hard Place
Unassisted DPs by pitchers aren't all that rare, but this one is not like the most common: line drive or soft loop to pitcher with runner on 1st running on the pitch either in an attempt to steal or executing a hit and run. Pitcher catches line drive/loop and continues to 1st base before runner can return.
 

Rice4HOF

Member
SoSH Member
Jan 21, 2002
1,726
Calgary, Canada
Ok so here's a strange question that this play makes me think of. Graveman tags Revere and he's out, but when Revere falls down he is then blocking Graveman's path to third base. Why wouldn't that be considered some kind of obstruction call on Revere, considering he is now out and shouldn't even be in the play but he is blocking Graveman's path to third base (albeit entirely unintentionally)?

Yes, this question is influenced by the WS call against Middlebrooks interfering with Craig, because its a similar if opposite play and I was just curious how the rules handle that.
Obstruction is on the defense. If a fielder is done making a play (WMB) and is in the way it's obstruction. If a runner is put out and is in the way, it's nothing unless he INTENTIONALLY interferes. Then it's interference.
I'm on mobile but can add in the exact wording of the rule later.

What was weird from an umpire's perspective on that play was Jerry Layne using his left hand to call the 2nd runner out. You never see that. Usually the right hand makes 2 out calls while pointing at the 2 different runners.
 

charlieoscar

Member
Sep 28, 2014
1,339
Unassisted DPs by pitchers aren't all that rare
Using Retrosheet data I only found one unassisted doubleplay during the period of 2010 through 2016 (or to be precise, when the DP flag = T and the fielder for the first putout and the fielder for the second putout = 1).

Ichiro Suzuki of Miami lined out to the left of pitcher Luis Perdomo of the Padres, who got J.T. Realmuto out at first, unassisted, bottom of the 6th, August 28, 2016.
 

timlinin8th

Member
SoSH Member
Jun 6, 2009
1,521
Obstruction is on the defense. If a fielder is done making a play (WMB) and is in the way it's obstruction. If a runner is put out and is in the way, it's nothing unless he INTENTIONALLY interferes. Then it's interference.
I'm on mobile but can add in the exact wording of the rule later.
I thought that was the case, but wasn't sure because that kinda sucks! I'm not a fan of umps trying to determine intent though, so I'm definitely biased against those kinds of rules.