4/17 vs Guardians

CarolinaBeerGuy

Don't know him from Adam
SoSH Member
Mar 14, 2006
10,150
Kernersville, NC
I thought he was out because he turned toward fair territory and not toward foul territory after passing the bag. Missing the bag entirely is even dumber.
Feels like he turned because there was a guy in his way. Just split second reaction. Really weird play that I think they got wrong.
I thought he turned in real time. Maybe I’m wrong.
 

Sad Sam Jones

Member
SoSH Member
May 5, 2017
2,609
Cleveland's broadcast said he was awarded a hit… the gamecast I have up says no hit. That would determine what he was called out for – you can't get a hit if you never touched first base.
 

Dewey's 'stache

New Member
Mar 16, 2023
1,283
I don’t think I missed a base in my Illustrious 4 year little league career. Hamilton has missed two in a week. It’s hard to grasp how that can happen at this level.
PS. I was pretty crappy and definitely stretched my skills in my 4th and final year. I didn’t hit much better than Bobby is currently, but I at least touched the base when I did :)
 

DennyDoyle'sBoil

Found no thrill on Blueberry Hill
SoSH Member
Sep 9, 2008
43,692
AZ
The call on the field had to be that he did not touch first base. It cannot be interference because the ball did not hit him. Being in fair territory is not enough to be called out after overruning first base. You have to make an attempt toward second base, which he never did. Even a slight attempt will be enough, but he didn't. Gotta just be a put out for not touching the base, which looked close on replay.

Just terrible luck that the guy backing up the throw was right there and made the attempt to tag him.
 

joe dokes

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 18, 2005
30,864
That was my thought. Instead of peeling off (like a normal little leaguer) he kept running in fair territory.
It will be interesting if anyone asks the ump after the game.
The rule is "immediately return to the base." It does not matter which side of the line he's on as long as he doesn't make a move toward second.
 

DennyDoyle'sBoil

Found no thrill on Blueberry Hill
SoSH Member
Sep 9, 2008
43,692
AZ
The rule is "immediately return to the base." It does not matter which side of the line he's on as long as he doesn't make a move toward second.
Yeah, the ump also pointed at the base. The call was that he didn't touch, I feel pretty certain.