Unusual plays, Calls or Rulings

ThePrideofShiner

Crests prematurely
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
10,950
Washington
Anyone seen this one before?

Runner advanced to second on a muffed throw by 2B, caught stealing, picked off. Assist to pitcher, assist to 1B.

That's from the official stats of my baseball team on the road today. Not sure how you can be caught stealing but still be on base, unless it is liking striking out and reaching base.
 

Cumberland Blues

Moderator
Moderator
SoSH Member
Sep 9, 2001
5,208
That's simple...he was picked off. Pitcher and 1B get an assist, he's safe at second on the error by the 2B (muffed the throw from 1B).
 

Tangled Up In Red

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Nov 8, 2004
4,562
Potrero
Runner advanced to second on a muffed throw by 2B, caught stealing, picked off. Assist to pitcher, assist to 1B.
Muffed throw by 2B or muffed catch? Not sure I'm following the full sequence here. I don't see how you can be caught stealing and picked off in the same play... let alone still be on base (unless two obvious and separate errors in the field).
 

DJnVa

Dorito Dawg
SoSH Member
Dec 16, 2010
54,583
Muffed throw by 2B or muffed catch? Not sure I'm following the full sequence here. I don't see how you can be caught stealing and picked off in the same play... let alone still be on base (unless two obvious and separate errors in the field).
Being "picked off" isn't a real stat--it does not mean the team got an out. Being picked off is a description, not a stat. You get picked off and try to advance and they get you--you're picked off as a DESCRIPTION of what led to the caught stealing.

Here's the caught stealing rule:

The official scorer shall charge a runner as “caught stealing” if such runner is put out, or would have been put out by errorless play, when such runner (1) tries to steal; (2) is picked off a base and tries to advance (any move toward the next base shall be considered an attempt to advance); or (3) overslides while stealing.
Therefore, it follows that you can be picked off and still be safe at second and get a stolen base if you simply beat the throw.
 
Last edited:

Tangled Up In Red

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Nov 8, 2004
4,562
Potrero
OK, helpful feedback, thanks.
Going back to my original confusion, was it a muffed throw or catch by the 2Bman (or does it not matter what happens after the break for second -- eg rundown vs straight slide)?
Is there no practical finite number of assists that can be given on a given play if the fielders continually drop the ball at bases? Assists do not have to equal outs...
 

Humphrey

Member
SoSH Member
Aug 3, 2010
3,261
What plays have anyone seen in basketball as odd as what Marcus Smart did Monday night?
 

tonyandpals

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Mar 18, 2004
7,914
Burlington
This happened the other night in a league I run. Tied 4-4, bottom 9 (we play 7), two outs, bases empty, team at the plate needs to win to make the playoffs. Game will be over after this inning due to time limit. Bloop single to right. Double down the LF line, 2nd and 3rd. Walk, bases loaded. First pitch to the next batter hits him in the leg. Start heading to first, ump immediately calls him back saying he did not make an attempt to get out of the way. Ball one. It was your typical this pitch is going to hit me type situation and he turned his leg an absorbed it. Never seen that one called before. Have seen the elbow over the plate called a strike. Not this one. Got to a full count, grounded out to second. Game. Finished the season 10-10-1 behine the 11-10 team they had the tiebreaker on. Oooof.
 

Cumberland Blues

Moderator
Moderator
SoSH Member
Sep 9, 2001
5,208
There's a kid on my son's HS team who has the bad habit of starting to walk to first before ball 4 reaches the plate. He's a RHB and a couple times he's been called back because he walked into a pitch.
 

LoweTek

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
May 30, 2005
2,191
Central Florida
There's a kid on my son's HS team who has the bad habit of starting to walk to first before ball 4 reaches the plate. He's a RHB and a couple times he's been called back because he walked into a pitch.
I'm a little surprised he hasn't pissed off some umpire along the way who might warn him and the coach and/or eject him on the spot.
 

edoug

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 15, 2005
6,007
There's a kid on my son's HS team who has the bad habit of starting to walk to first before ball 4 reaches the plate. He's a RHB and a couple times he's been called back because he walked into a pitch.
He's on the High School team and has happened more than once? I know that's what you wrote but I'm just having a hard time comprehending it.
 

Cumberland Blues

Moderator
Moderator
SoSH Member
Sep 9, 2001
5,208
Yeah...it happened at least twice this past season - and probably should've happened more - I have no idea why it's a thing with this kid. He is otherwise a pretty smart player. I know the coach has talked with him about it and told him not to do that.
 

edoug

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 15, 2005
6,007
It is odd but Papi has started to first on an obvious ball 4. Being left-handed made it less of a big deal.