CFB 2022 Week 0: Irish Corn Famine

Awesome Fossum

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 20, 2005
3,909
Austin, TX
All times ET. Lines from ESPN. Not all FCS games listed.

Saturday, August 27
12 Austin Peay at WKU, CBSSN
12:30 Nebraska (-13) vs. Northwestern in Dublin, FOX

3:30 Stephen F. Austin vs. Jacksonville State in Montgomery, ESPN
3:30 Idaho State at UNLV, CBSSN
4 UConn at Utah State (-27.5), FS1
4 Wyoming at Illinois (-10), BTN
5 Duquesne at Florida State, ACCN

7 Howard vs. Alabama State in Atlanta, GA, ESPN
7 Charlotte at Florida Atlantic (-7), CBSSN
7 Morehead State at Mercer, ESPN+
8:15 Florida A&M at North Carolina, ACCN
9 North Texas at UTEP (even), Stadium

10 Nevada at New Mexico State, ESPN2
10:30 Vanderbilt (-6.5) at Hawaii, CBSSN
 
Last edited:

Ale Xander

Hamilton
SoSH Member
Oct 31, 2013
73,070
Frost in August? No wonder there's a famine.

Best game on the slate may be Wyoming Illinois.

Ucon a 4 td underdog to Utah State, that one will be fun. Doesn't look like playoffs will be in store for the Huskies.
 

axx

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
8,131
Florida A&M has apparently 20 ineligible players but they are still going to play Carolina. Players initially didn't want to play but were coaxed into it by the University President.
 

Humphrey

Member
SoSH Member
Aug 3, 2010
3,187
450,000 reasons why the HBC Rattlers are playing the game w/all of 2 backup offensive linemen.

They had a famous coach, Jake Gaither, who used to say "I like my boys to be agile, mobile, and hostile." eligi-Bile would help in this case.
 

axx

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
8,131
Big fumble call in Neb-NW. I think his knee was down but the angles were tough to see.
 

axx

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
8,131
Ooh, NW went for it on 4th and 1 on their own side of the field... and got it
 

JCizzle

Member
SoSH Member
Dec 11, 2006
20,597
Man, I thought Frost was a slam dunk hire. I'm not sure it's possible to turn around Nebraska.
 

Awesome Fossum

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 20, 2005
3,909
Austin, TX
Man, I thought Frost was a slam dunk hire. I'm not sure it's possible to turn around Nebraska.
I liked the hire too. The heights of 1990s Nebraska might not be realistic anytime soon, but there's no reason they can't be as good as like Iowa. They need to get one of these coaching hires right at some point though.
 

axx

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
8,131
Ahh... NW turtled, Nebraska's going to get a shot at this with no timeouts.

Edit: Punt downed at the 3... plenty of time but that's a long way to go for the FG.
 

PC Drunken Friar

Member
SoSH Member
Sep 12, 2003
14,591
South Boston
UCONN hitting Utah St. in the mouth.

14-0 pending a review. Already have 150+ rushing yard. True freshman in at QB (starter got hurt).

He has 2 passes. 1 INT, 1 TD.
 

BaseballJones

ivanvamp
SoSH Member
Oct 1, 2015
24,615
UConn is playing well but the fumble on the nice run was killer. Also, I don't get it. On Utah State's TD drive, they completed a key third down pass where the receiver was a yard out of bounds then came back in to catch the ball. @CFB_Rules - what's the NCAA rule on that? He was pushed out but I thought that didn't matter. He still can't be the first guy to touch a pass after going out of bounds, I thought.
 

BaseballJones

ivanvamp
SoSH Member
Oct 1, 2015
24,615
Utah State rolling now. UConn unable to stop them at all. Just ripping through the Husky defense.

Meanwhile, UConn had a play where a receiver caught a nice 14 yard pass but a penalty was called because the receiver stepped out of bounds and was the first guy to touch the ball on the pass. He wasn't pushed out, but he was *barely* out of bounds, while the Utah State guy earlier was a yard out of bounds.

I'm dying to know why the discrepancy in penalties there.
 

BaseballJones

ivanvamp
SoSH Member
Oct 1, 2015
24,615
Ok found the rule. From: https://www.footballzebras.com/2016/08/rule-loophole-closed-on-out-of-bounds-receivers/

"Rule 8-1-8-b states:
It is a foul for illegal touching if a forward pass first touches or is caught by an eligible receiver who has gone out of bounds (either by his own volition or by being legally forced out) and has re-established himself inbounds.
Penalty: Loss of down at the previous spot."
So the Utah State play should have been a penalty on them instead of a huge gain. And it was like...right in front of the ref. Ugh. UConn isn't very good so they can't have things like that go against them.
 

Ale Xander

Hamilton
SoSH Member
Oct 31, 2013
73,070
Wouldn't have liked that punt with 7 mins to go if I was a Husker fan. Does Frost make it past Labor Day?

Go 'Cats!

----
I was wrong about UConn. They're better (not as bad) than I imagined.
 

sheamonu

Member
SoSH Member
Nov 11, 2004
1,342
Dublin, Ireland
Great game in Dublin today - stadium was rocking. Never seen anything like the Nebraska crowd - they travel like no other fan base. That said - they were not happy leaving the grounds. Looking for a new coach already - and I can't blame them.Onside kick up 11, passing when the smart call was to run (up 4), punting with the clock running down - send resumes.
 

CFB_Rules

Member
SoSH Member
Nov 29, 2016
1,631
UConn is playing well but the fumble on the nice run was killer. Also, I don't get it. On Utah State's TD drive, they completed a key third down pass where the receiver was a yard out of bounds then came back in to catch the ball. @CFB_Rules - what's the NCAA rule on that? He was pushed out but I thought that didn't matter. He still can't be the first guy to touch a pass after going out of bounds, I thought.
He can legally catch the ball if he is pushed out, as long as he reestablishes back in bounds before catching the ball
 

BaseballJones

ivanvamp
SoSH Member
Oct 1, 2015
24,615
He can legally catch the ball if he is pushed out, as long as he reestablishes back in bounds before catching the ball
What about rule 8-1-8b that I cited earlier that states that it doesn’t matter whether he went out in his own or was pushed out?
 

CFB_Rules

Member
SoSH Member
Nov 29, 2016
1,631
What about rule 8-1-8b that I cited earlier that states that it doesn’t matter whether he went out in his own or was pushed out?
Looks like an NFL rule. The relevant NCAA rule is the exception in 7-3-4:

ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds and returns in bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass while in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I, II and IV). [Exception: This does not apply to an originally eligible offensive player who immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-III)]. If the player touches the pass before returning in bounds, it is an incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7) and not a foul for illegal touching.
 

BaseballJones

ivanvamp
SoSH Member
Oct 1, 2015
24,615
Looks like an NFL rule. The relevant NCAA rule is the exception in 7-3-4:

ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds and returns in bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass while in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I, II and IV). [Exception: This does not apply to an originally eligible offensive player who immediately returns inbounds after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-III)]. If the player touches the pass before returning in bounds, it is an incomplete pass (Rule 7-3-7) and not a foul for illegal touching.
Ok thanks. The site I linked to for that rule came up in a search for the college rule, not the pro rule. But it does appear that they were talking about the NFL rule. Thanks for the clarification!