2024 CONMEBOL Copa America tournament

Zososoxfan

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 30, 2009
9,435
South of North
one bit of news and one realization about the format:

The Copa America will officially have 26 man rosters. As long as GGG avoids any “eyes and vibes” guys, this is great news as more players can go and possibly more Olympic spots will open up as a result. So many players are still U-23 eligible. The Olympic roster might end up weaker as a result, but more young players will get that exposure in Paris, and possibly more dual nationals use it as an opportunity to choose the red, white, and blue.

I just realized the format in the knockouts is that two groups are completely on one side of the bracket and the other two completely on the other. The reason is obvious- no matter what the results are in the group stages, Brazil and Argentina are on opposite sides of the bracket. That’s the final the Comnebol wants. It also means that the US (assuming getting out of the group) will have to beat two of Brazil, Uruguay, and Colombia en route to the final, where they most likely face Argentina. If GGG can get the US to the final with that path, they should erect a statue of him in Frisco and (after finishing a huge helping of crow I would need to eat) I would gladly donate $1000 to the cause. Apologies if this has been mentioned upthread but that is a tough break for the USMNT.
Is this true? I have tickets to the semi in NYC, but my understanding is that group winners, runners up, and other qualifiers can end up on different sides of the KO bracket depending on group finishing place.
 

rguilmar

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
2,240
Is this true? I have tickets to the semi in NYC, but my understanding is that group winners, runners up, and other qualifiers can end up on different sides of the KO bracket depending on group finishing place.
From what I’ve seen, yes. Assuming Argentina don’t get eliminated beforehand they have the July 9 game in New York.

View attachment IMG_6813.webp

Check out this article in the Athletic/NYTimes. Specific info is:


July 4

  • Match 25 1A vs 2B (6pm PST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST, 1am BST, NRG Stadium, Houston)
July 5

  • Match 26 1B vs 2A (6pm PST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST, 1am BST, AT&T Stadium, Arlington)
July 6

  • Match 28 1D vs 2C (3pm PST, 5pm CST, 6pm EST, 10pm BST, State Farm Stadium, Glendale)
  • Match 27 1C vs 2D (6pm PST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST, 1am BST, Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas)
Semi-finals
July 9

  • Match 29 W25 vs W26 (5pm PST, 7pm CST, 8pm EST, 12am BST, MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford)
July 10

  • Match 30 W27 vs W28 (5pm PST, 7pm CST, 8pm EST, 12am BST, Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte)