I'm curious to share stories about odd plays, calls, rule interpretations, etc. I'm coaching a 12U Fall team and it seems there have been more unusual things happening on the field than in other age divisions I have coached. Runner on first, one out. Fly ball to short right center is caught on a nice running catch. Runner is almost to second base. CF realizes this and throws off-line and a bit short to the 1B to attempt to double off the runner. 1B is attempting to field the throw about a third of the way toward 2B. Runner brushes him as he is reaching up to catch the high throw. Ball gets away, runner reaches 1B safely. Interference or no? Why or why not? Another one. Runners on 2B & 3B, 2 outs, 2-2 count on the batter. Pitch gets by the catcher. Batter steps out of the box to allow room for the runner trying to score from third. Runner is ruled safe as the defense attempts a play on him. Defense realizes the pitch was called strike three. Batter realizes this at the same time. They hurry to tag the batter standing there just outside the batter's box. Batter is called out. Umpire rules the run does not count. Is this a timing play and the run should count? Why or why not. I'm not quizzing here. I think the rule book is pretty vague on both of these questions. What say you coaches? What other unusual plays, call or rulings have you seen?