Dismiss Notice
Guest, I have a big favor to ask you. We've been working very hard to establish ourselves on social media. If you like/follow our pages it would be a HUGE help to us. SoSH on Facebook and Inside the Pylon Thanks! Nip

Schrödinger's at-bat: Young pinch hit for himself in last night's debacle

Discussion in 'Red Sox Forum' started by Harry Hooper, Aug 26, 2017.

  1. Harry Hooper

    Harry Hooper Well-Known Member Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    22,916
    We have a sure entry for inclusion in the next volume of Baseball is a Funny Game. When Moreland, starting 1B, moved to the mound to pitch the 9th inning, by MLB rules the Red Sox forfeited the DH. Ramirez came in to play 1B and took DH Young's position in the batting order. Young is out of the game. Nevertheless, in the bottom of the 9th Young grabbed a bat, got on deck, and then batted in his original slot -- seemingly without objection from anyone. As a result the MLB box score has Young listed as PH-DH.




    Yes, we know the summary says Young PH for Ramirez, but don't ruin the story.
     
  2. Rough Carrigan

    Rough Carrigan reasons within Reason Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    18,547
    According to MLB network, Buck Showalter caught it but up 16-3 just said, ah, screw it. Go ahead.
     
  3. Bob Montgomery's Helmet Hat

    Bob Montgomery's Helmet Hat has big, douchey shoulders Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    25,468
    Of course he did. He invented the rule.
     
  4. Harry Hooper

    Harry Hooper Well-Known Member Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    22,916
    Quite possibly true, though would Buck ever admit to reporters that he didn't notice?
     
  5. grimshaw

    grimshaw the new rudy SoSH Member

    Messages:
    2,658
    Somewhere, Yakov Smirnoff is shaking his head in incredulity about our country.
     
  6. AB in DC

    AB in DC OG Football Writing Silver Supporter SoSH Member

    Messages:
    3,512
    Rules experts -- is there a time limit to when Showalter could have challenged? Would it have to be before the first pitch to him?
     
  7. Harry Hooper

    Harry Hooper Well-Known Member Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    22,916
    Buck can appeal any time before the first pitch to the batter after (Young/Ramirez/Young), who was Davis. The fact that Young got on base in the 9th and yet no appeal was made is one more piece of evidence that Buck didn't notice.

    Of course, last night was more than the typical batting-out-of-order scenario. There was a player (Young) who had already been removed from the game "re-entering" the game to bat. Young was the most improper of improper batters.
     
  8. Marbleheader

    Marbleheader Dope Dope

    Messages:
    9,030
    Once again, Farrell showing his managerial chops are top notch.
     
  9. E5 Yaz

    E5 Yaz Transcends message boarding Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    53,711
    I think Buck did notice. There was a shot of him in the dugout talking to a coach and making a WTF gesture.

    This incident, as Marbleheader points out, is far more telling about how tuned out of the game the Red Sox players and coaching staff were. Even if Farrell didn't know what to do, you'd think someone on the bench should have known what to do.
     
  10. Harry Hooper

    Harry Hooper Well-Known Member Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    22,916
    We know from experience that once Young goes to the on-deck circle, Farrell never calls him back to the dugout. :cool:



    Thanks for the clarification on Buck.
     
  11. Boggs26

    Boggs26 Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    883
    This was my thought. Who cares if Buck noticed, how did no one notice on the Sox side? How many coaches are in the dugout? Surely someone should have caught it.

    The ONLY explanation that isn't completely embarrassing is if Young just grabbed the bat and went up In his normal spot (he has the best excuse for not realizing he was out of the game since nothing had changed for him) and no one noticed until he'd stepped to the plate and at that point they just figured - it's 16-3 let Buck look like the ass to call us on it.

    Even that's pretty bad, but it's better than thinking that no one realized it until after the game.

    Sent from my SM-N920V using SoSH mobile app
     
  12. snowmanny

    snowmanny Well-Known Member Gold Supporter SoSH Member

    Messages:
    7,795
    I'm on the side of this is a major gaffe by the Red Sox: if the Orioles are letting you send whoever you want up to bat, is Young really the best choice?
     
  13. Reverend

    Reverend for king and country Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    28,794
    Where did Ramirez think he was batting?
     
  14. E5 Yaz

    E5 Yaz Transcends message boarding Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    53,711
    In the pitcher's spot.

    I think this falls on the bench coach. One of his duties is to back-check the manager to ensure that roster changes on either side are accounted for. Just a team-wide snafu
     
  15. barbed wire Bob

    barbed wire Bob crippled by fear Silver Supporter SoSH Member

    Messages:
    7,312
    The entire game was a case of team-wide snafu. I can't remember the last time I saw the Red Sox play so badly. Mentally, none of them seemed to be in the game.
     

Share This Page