Unusual plays

loshjott

Member
SoSH Member
Dec 30, 2004
11,409
Silver Spring, MD
This is a twitter embedded video from the KBO. Bases loaded one out, tie score, bottom nine. Batter hits line drive that 3B fields on one hop and tags third. Then, hijinks ensue. (catcher singlehandedly blows this)

 

McBride11

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 15, 2005
16,623
Charleston, SC
This is a twitter embedded video from the KBO. Bases loaded one out, tie score, bottom nine. Batter hits line drive that 3B fields on one hop and tags third. Then, hijinks ensue. (catcher singlehandedly blows this)

I'm not sure why the man running from 2nd to 3rd, who is out when the 3b touches the bag, is just allowed to stand in the middle of the play? Guess I never really paid attention to where the man who is out goes mid play.

Also while the catcher was dumb to chase that runner back to second, why didn't the 3b throw home after the C gave him the ball, guy was only 1/2 way there in a light jog.
 

cromulence

Member
SoSH Member
Aug 25, 2009
5,427
I'm not sure why the man running from 2nd to 3rd, who is out when the 3b touches the bag, is just allowed to stand in the middle of the play? Guess I never really paid attention to where the man who is out goes mid play.

Also while the catcher was dumb to chase that runner back to second, why didn't the 3b throw home after the C gave him the ball, guy was only 1/2 way there in a light jog.
I think he heard/saw the Out call from the ump and thought the inning was over? Of course, that guy was already out. Between the ump making the Out motion and the guy who's been out sticking around and directly affecting the play, the whole thing doesn't feel right. But still, the catcher blew it pretty badly.
 

phrenile

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Aug 4, 2005
10,774
Living off Hope
Softball but: catch or HR???

Gut feel at first was HR, but I think her feet are still over the playing field when she catches it, thus rendering it a catch (I think?)

View: https://twitter.com/samsworth_ksl/status/1396247883159011328?s=21
In softball, under the International Softball Federation rules, that's a catch.
Rule 15.c: "The fielder’s feet must be within the field of play, touching the ‘out of play’ line or being in the air after leaving live ball territory in order to have a valid catch. If the player has control of the ball when returning to the ground in the ‘out of play’ area, it is a valid catch. A player who is in “out of play area’ and returns to the live ball territory must have both feet touching the playable area prior to touching the ball in order to have a valid catch."
In MLB baseball, that'd be a dead ball, with all runners advancing one base
Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
 

Rwillh11

Member
SoSH Member
Apr 23, 2010
141
In MLB baseball, that'd be a dead ball, with all runners advancing one base
Just clarifying since its a big ambiguous - it's still a catch in MLB - batter is out but if there are runners on and less than 2 out, they each move up a base.
 

Red(s)HawksFan

Well-Known Member
Silver Supporter
SoSH Member
Jan 23, 2009
14,190
Maine
Not really comparable though. Jeter caught it clearly in fair territory then ran three steps and dived into the stands.
Which brings up the question...if it hadn't been the third out of the inning, would Jeter have stopped himself to prevent a run from scoring?
 

Bowhemian

Member
SoSH Member
Nov 10, 2015
3,445
Bow, NH
Not to mention, 2B should have slid over to cover 1B as soon as the rundown started. He was doing no good camped out covering 2B.
 

Ed Hillel

Wants to be startin somethin
SoSH Member
Dec 12, 2007
27,335
Here
Like just hold the ball lol. Let the runner touch home, who cares. Baez still gotta make it to first. :(
 

joe dokes

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 18, 2005
20,280
Not to mention, 2B should have slid over to cover 1B as soon as the rundown started. He was doing no good camped out covering 2B.
Catcher gets no points for trying to tag the runner either, but even though he tagged too late, no matter how long it took to get the batter out, the run wouldn't count.
 

sodenj5

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Jul 14, 2005
4,809
CT
Monumentally dumb play from the first baseman. At first it looked like he intentionally came off the bag to try and chase Baez.

After watching this like a dozen times, I guess the throw was off line slightly? But it seems like he made no effort to try and stay on the bag. Then he literally needs to turn around and take two steps and the inning is over.

The Little League throwing of the ball all over the field afterwards is the whipped cream on the sundae at that point.
 

JCizzle

Member
SoSH Member
Dec 11, 2006
13,591
Monumentally dumb play from the first baseman. At first it looked like he intentionally came off the bag to try and chase Baez.

After watching this like a dozen times, I guess the throw was off line slightly? But it seems like he made no effort to try and stay on the bag. Then he literally needs to turn around and take two steps and the inning is over.

The Little League throwing of the ball all over the field afterwards is the whipped cream on the sundae at that point.
I had the same thought. It was so dumb that I thought for sure I was missing something, but no.
 

DJnVa

Dorito Dawg
SoSH Member
Dec 16, 2010
44,227
Like just hold the ball lol. Let the runner touch home, who cares. Baez still gotta make it to first. :(
Yeah, it's not really even a smart play by Baez, except, I guess that it worked and there was literally no downside for him. He clearly thinks if he's tagged out after the run scores that the run counts and it doesn't.

But in the end, if, in order for your plan to work, you need a team to kind of fuck up historically, then, kudos.
 

SumnerH

Malt Liquor Picker
Dope
Jul 18, 2005
28,006
Alexandria, VA
Yeah, it's not really even a smart play by Baez, except, I guess that it worked and there was literally no downside for him. He clearly thinks if he's tagged out after the run scores that the run counts and it doesn't.

But in the end, if, in order for your plan to work, you need a team to kind of fuck up historically, then, kudos.
Well, I mean, what else is he gonna do? He grounded into an out. Dancing around on the line and somehow luring the other team into a historic boondoggle is your only chance of salvaging the run. It's still incredibly low odds but it's slightly better than just running to first and taking the out, and it happened to work out for him.

(But, yeah, I don't think he was thinking that).
 

phrenile

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Aug 4, 2005
10,774
Living off Hope
Basically, the play happened because not one but two players didn't know the rules.
Three if you count the C who didn't tag Baez as soon as he got the ball. Four if you count the 2B who didn't cover first. (Five if you include the RF who also didn't.)
 

staz

Intangible
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Dec 2, 2004
16,351
The cradle of the game.
Saw this on TikToc and immediately thought it was a fake.

I mean part of me thinks (hopes) we find out there's a plausible explanation. Like even the 1B coach yelling that he has to tag the batter would provide at least some relief.
 

Kremlin Watcher

Member
SoSH Member
Sep 20, 2005
4,340
Houston, TX
Saw this on TikToc and immediately thought it was a fake.

I mean part of me thinks (hopes) we find out there's a plausible explanation. Like even the 1B coach yelling that he has to tag the batter would provide at least some relief.
Why would the first base coach encourage him to tag the bag? He’s on the Cubs.
 

Lowrielicious

Member
SoSH Member
Apr 19, 2011
4,042
I'm going to guess the 1B caught the throw and figured this inning is over and switched his brain to auto pilot to complete the out jogging down towards Baez. When he saw the runner busting for home at the last minute he had a little panic and second guessed himself on whether that run would actually count or not. Made the throw to the catcher just to be sure, because why not. Either way Baez is going to be out.

Except 2b (and even RF at a stretch) had already switched off also and weren't covering 1b. GJGE all around.
 

E5 Yaz

Transcends message boarding
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Apr 25, 2002
68,793
Oregon
Keith Law: I mean, I love Baez, and that’s heads-up running by him, but what in the actual fuck was Will Craig thinking? Was this his first day playing baseball? STEP ON FIRST BASE.
 

RIrooter09

Alvin
SoSH Member
Jul 31, 2008
5,697
Yes there are plenty of contenders, but this is a professional athlete failing to make a play most 6 year olds can.
 

LogansDad

Member
SoSH Member
Nov 15, 2006
19,671
Alamogordo
I really think the Colts play stands alone. Most of these were game action, spur of the moment, mental of physical mistakes.

That one was PLANNED.
 

Ed Hillel

Wants to be startin somethin
SoSH Member
Dec 12, 2007
27,335
Here
Yeah, put me down for the Colts fake punt. That was so breathtakingly stupid, I am still processing it. Also, funny. Very, VERY funny.
 

canderson

Mr. Brightside
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
28,932
Harrisburg, Pa.
Three if you count the C who didn't tag Baez as soon as he got the ball. Four if you count the 2B who didn't cover first. (Five if you include the RF who also didn't.)
The home plate ump was incorrect too - he signaled safe but the runner wasn't safe as the hitter outcome was pending.
 

BaseballJones

ivanvamp
SoSH Member
Oct 1, 2015
12,740
Is that the worst play in sports history?
It's gotta be up there. I mean, that's like the most elementary thing in baseball. Maybe he forgot how many outs there were? That would at least provide a plausible explanation. It's not like that kind of thing hasn't happened before. Even Tom Brady forgot once what down it was. So that can happen to the best of them. If he thought there were two outs, then that's just the most massive baseball brain lock I've ever seen.