Sam Ray Not
- Jul 19, 2005
67 pitches, through six: 6 0 0 0 0 9
Halfway thereWould be a shame if he gave up a homer and that Judge didn’t hit one.
Great.Would be a shame if he gave up a homer and that Judge didn’t hit one.
It does if you’re a DH, I think.Does it still count if you no hit the A's?
Why isn't he starting next Tues or Wed?Last start of the season. No pitch count.
A legit question but evidently the A's have the longest current streak in MLB of not being no-hit, not since 1991.Does it still count if you no hit the A's?
I thought he was indeed scheduled to.Why isn't he starting next Tues or Wed?
Yes. The pitcher and the DH are treated as two separate people even if they're the same person, so replacing him in one role doesn't affect the other one. It's rule 5.11(b)I could look this up but I'm sure someone here will know immediately: so when Ohtani reached to start the 7th, could LAA pinch run for him as a DH and still keep him in as a pitcher? I am guessing no but I know there is at least one rule that tried to separate the two roles.
However, in the event the starting pitcher will bat for himself, the player will be considered two separate people for purposes of Rule 5.11(a). In such cases, the manager should list 10 players on his team’s lineup card, and this player should be named twice – once as the starting pitcher and once as the Designated Hitter. Thus, if the starting pitcher is replaced, he can continue as the Designated Hitter (but can no longer pitch in the game), and if the Designated Hitter is replaced, he can continue as the pitcher (but can no longer hit for himself).
He calls it “Rule V.XI (B)”Nevin's an old-school manager. He doesn't believe in these newfangled baseball fads like "launch angle" or "Rule 5.11(b)."