7/24 Wednesday at the Pimple

azsoxpatsfan

Member
SoSH Member
May 23, 2014
389
I’m not watching and am so confused. So is the issue regarding whether kolarek takes the spot of the dh or 1b in the lineup? I didn’t know that rule about losing the dh if a pitcher moves to a different position that’s interesting

Cumberland blues answered while I was typing this, but why is that the rule. Why not just have the pitcher take the spot of the position he takes, and if losing the dh is really that important have the next pitcher slot in there. Seems overcomplicated
 

DennyDoyle'sBoil

Found no thrill on Blueberry Hill
SoSH Member
Sep 9, 2008
26,433
AZ
Is he saying "he came in for the pitcher"?

If the pitcher is brought in for the pitcher the pitcher cannot stay in the game. Maybe Cash tried to bring the pitcher for the pitcher and then to change him to a different position, which would definitely mean he's out of the game.
 

DeadlySplitter

Member
SoSH Member
Oct 20, 2015
18,206
Sorry, but Cora needs to get the f*** over this, it's allowed and it's fine. Seriously, eject him so we can get the game moving again.
he's not arguing that i'ts allowed, they fucked up who goes where.

there's a chance at a successful protest here if we lose.
 

mdipalma78

lurker
Jul 19, 2005
129
Gameday has switched this. Orignally, Lowe was in the 3 spot when the argument was going on. Now they say that Adames is PH for the pitcher. If that's the case and we're protesting, Cora must have been saying that the pitcher could not return to the mound.
 

DeadlySplitter

Member
SoSH Member
Oct 20, 2015
18,206
if there's some technical rule that Cash violated that meant Kolarek should have been out of the game, that would be something.
 

azsoxpatsfan

Member
SoSH Member
May 23, 2014
389
The Astros did something like that a few years ago where they brought in a lefty and he faced a batter, went to right field for a batter, then pitched again, and there was no problem. But it may have been when they were in the NL still so the whole DH thing wouldn’t matter
 

canderson

Fomenting voting confusion and angst since 2016
Gold Supporter
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
23,182
Harrisburg, Pa.
I'm following on Twitter and highly confused, but I'm not betting against Alex Cora when it comes to knowing MLB rules.
 

E5 Yaz

Transcends message boarding
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Apr 25, 2002
60,125
Oregon
I'm following on Twitter and highly confused, but I'm not betting against Alex Cora when it comes to knowing MLB rules.
I'm wondering whether the Red Sox rule geeks are better than the Rays rule geeks

If the problem was some kind of argument about the pitcher being ruled "out of the game," then he shouldn't he have not been allowed to play 1B? The protest should have come at that point, if that's the issue.

My guess is that Angel screwed up and said the lefty was out of the game w/o understanding what the Rays were doing
 

mdipalma78

lurker
Jul 19, 2005
129
I think that we're clear on everything that happened up to Roe replacing Kolarek, and Kolarek going to 1B.

AFAIK, it's fine for the pitcher to move to a different position and to return to the mound. I'm less sure on who takes the DH spot when that happens..the pitcher who's getting pulled or the pitcher coming in? At that point there are two pitchers on the field and they both need to occupy a lineup spot. Originally, Gameday said that Kolarek was in the 9 spot, replacing Choi, who left the game when the pitching change happened. Roe was batting 3rd. Then they brought Lowe into 1B, pulled Roe and put Kolarek back on the mound. Lowe was listed in the #3 spot.

Then the discussion and they changed it. Lowe now appears in 9th spot and Kolarek was listed at #3 and pinch-hit for by Adames. That would seem to be something that Cora was arguing SHOULD happen, as the Rays needed to PH immediately. But, that doesn't explain the protest.

Best guess is that, by putting Kolarek in the #9 spot and Roe @ #3, previously occupied by the DH, then Kolarek isn't allowed to pitch again? Not sure what sense that makes. Seems to me that you could start with 9 players on the field and have them rotate one position each inning, like volleyball. As long as they don't leave the game, they can play any position at any time.
 

patoaflac

Member
SoSH Member
May 6, 2016
1,586
All those base on balls are part of the plan to follow the Orsillo initiative: long innings and......."the opposing pitcher has not thrown in XX minutes"
 

joe dokes

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 18, 2005
12,859
I think that we're clear on everything that happened up to Roe replacing Kolarek, and Kolarek going to 1B.

AFAIK, it's fine for the pitcher to move to a different position and to return to the mound. I'm less sure on who takes the DH spot when that happens..the pitcher who's getting pulled or the pitcher coming in? At that point there are two pitchers on the field and they both need to occupy a lineup spot. Originally, Gameday said that Kolarek was in the 9 spot, replacing Choi, who left the game when the pitching change happened. Roe was batting 3rd. Then they brought Lowe into 1B, pulled Roe and put Kolarek back on the mound. Lowe was listed in the #3 spot.

Then the discussion and they changed it. Lowe now appears in 9th spot and Kolarek was listed at #3 and pinch-hit for by Adames. That would seem to be something that Cora was arguing SHOULD happen, as the Rays needed to PH immediately. But, that doesn't explain the protest.

Best guess is that, by putting Kolarek in the #9 spot and Roe @ #3, previously occupied by the DH, then Kolarek isn't allowed to pitch again? Not sure what sense that makes. Seems to me that you could start with 9 players on the field and have them rotate one position each inning, like volleyball. As long as they don't leave the game, they can play any position at any time.
The pitcher getting moved seems like the one to take the DH spot, since it's his moving that takes the DH out of the game. OTOH--Maybe its just like any double switch. If two guys come in and two go out (and neither pinch hit), you can bat them in either spot. OTTH-- Two guys didn't come in at the same time.
 

MyDaughterLovesTomGordon

Member
SoSH Member
Jun 26, 2006
8,198
The book is clearly to pitch Xander away - it would be nice if umpires didn't screw him all the time by giving the pitcher 8 inches extra plate.