2016 US Open- Oakmont

Average Reds

Dope
Staff member
Dope
V&N Mod
SoSH Member
Sep 24, 2007
24,815
Southwestern CT
So this guy is saying there will be a penalty
The USGA official's articulation of the rule is not what the rule is supposed to be.

They claimed that they are looking to penalize him because they can't see what else could have caused the ball to move. But the rule is an affirmative one, in the sense that he only gets penalized if he is deemed to have caused it to move, not if they can't figure it out and so conclude by default.

Unless they see his club hit the ball, it should not be a penalty. He wasn't even grounded at the time.

Assholes.
 

E5 Yaz

Transcends message boarding
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Apr 25, 2002
59,332
Oregon
ESPN: The USGA asked Dustin Johnson what else could have caused his ball to move on the 5th green. Johnson did not give an answer to that which is why after his round, the USGA will take DJ to watch the video and decide if he gets a one shot penalty.
 

E5 Yaz

Transcends message boarding
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Apr 25, 2002
59,332
Oregon
They claimed that they are looking to penalize him because they can't see what else could have caused the ball to move. But the rule is an affirmative one, in the sense that he only gets penalized if he is deemed to have caused it to move, not if they can't figure it out and so conclude by default.
This sounds painfully familiar
 

CSteinhardt

"Steiny"
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Dec 18, 2003
2,552
Cambridge
Formally, the USGA won't assess him a penalty. Johnson will decide whether to assess himself a penalty, and the USGA will decide whether he did so incorrectly and signed a wrong scorecard. So clearly he gets to make up his mind independently, right? :)
 

PaulinMyrBch

Don't touch his dog food
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Dec 10, 2003
8,287
MYRTLE BEACH!!!!
Formally, the USGA won't assess him a penalty. Johnson will decide whether to assess himself a penalty, and the USGA will decide whether he did so incorrectly and signed a wrong scorecard. So clearly he gets to make up his mind independently, right? :)
I don't think so. Not with a conference with rules officials after the round. Similar to that waste bunker trap situation a few years ago. He was told to change his card before he signed it back then.
 

Dave Stapleton

Just A Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Oct 11, 2001
7,185
Norfolk, MA
Formally, the USGA won't assess him a penalty. Johnson will decide whether to assess himself a penalty, and the USGA will decide whether he did so incorrectly and signed a wrong scorecard. So clearly he gets to make up his mind independently, right? :)
Wouldn't be surprised to see him force the USGA to disqualify him.
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,170
I'm watching about 10 minutes behind on DVR, and just caught up. The way I heard that conversation, the USGA has actually made their "decision." He even referenced a written decision a couple of times, and made it sound like DJ will get a chance to read it, and respond to it. But, unless DJ can come up with a better solution as to why the ball moved, other than because of something he did, they've already decided on the penalty. Which is insane. One the announcers even said, "couldn't it have just been an uneven blade of grass," and the guy said "Yeah, that's something it could be, and we'll ask DJ that." WTF???? Why wouldn't you have asked him that when your fucking official was telling him he didn't do anything wrong, and how the fuck does the entire world think the rule has to do with whether or not you address the ball, when its' not the actual rule? They need to get their heads out of their asses, and I'm so happy to see Spieth, Rory and others come roaring to his aid immediately.
 

Dave Stapleton

Just A Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Oct 11, 2001
7,185
Norfolk, MA
I don't think so. Not with a conference with rules officials after the round. Similar to that waste bunker trap situation a few years ago. He was told to change his card before he signed it back then.
But what if he insists on signing the card and daring the USGA to disqualify him, particularly in light of the growing support of his fellow players?
 

CSteinhardt

"Steiny"
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Dec 18, 2003
2,552
Cambridge
I don't think so. Not with a conference with rules officials after the round. Similar to that waste bunker trap situation a few years ago. He was told to change his card before he signed it back then.
Yes, but there, again, he was advised of the rules and told that if he signed for a lower number, he'd be DQd.

Anybody want to give me odds on Furyk to win this thing? I'm thinking it's in the 10% range...
 

Dave Stapleton

Just A Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Oct 11, 2001
7,185
Norfolk, MA
Norm MacDonald tweeted that other players should be advised of the possible penalty. Now he's giving Buck crap that he should have been credited when he just made the same point following tweet.
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,170
I hope if DJ wins by a stroke, and they penalize him one shot, that whoever he's supposed to play tomorrow shows up, and refuses to tee off, and concedes to DJ.
 

johnmd20

literally like ebola
Lifetime Member
Gold Supporter
SoSH Member
Dec 30, 2003
37,777
New York City
I hope if DJ wins by a stroke, and they penalize him one shot, that whoever he's supposed to play tomorrow shows up, and refuses to tee off, and concedes to DJ.
That would be cool, but it'll likely not go down like that. Some schmoe isn't going to give up a chance to win the US open.
 

teddykgb

Member
SoSH Member
Jul 16, 2005
7,056
Chelmsford, MA
Day going bunker to bunker then failing to get out is bringing me great joy. I love him as a player but I love seeing these guys do hacker crap that I do even more
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,170
That would be cool, but it'll likely not go down like that. Some schmoe isn't going to give up a chance to win the US open.
True, but would you want to be remembered as the guy who won the Open, but didn't deserve it? Whoever it is, they already have millions, and a great career ahead of or behind them. I don't know. Tough call, but a guy like Furyk, I wouldn't be surprised to see him do it.
 

johnmd20

literally like ebola
Lifetime Member
Gold Supporter
SoSH Member
Dec 30, 2003
37,777
New York City
True, but would you want to be remembered as the guy who won the Open, but didn't deserve it? Whoever it is, they already have millions, and a great career ahead of or behind them. I don't know. Tough call, but a guy like Furyk, I wouldn't be surprised to see him do it.
US Open win is a life changing thing. Cink beat Tom Watson in the British Open in a playoff and nobody wanted him to win, but he won and now he's a major winner. It's a big deal. I can't see these guys walking away over something that wasn't their fault.
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,170
Given the likely guy in the playoff had the exact same penalty imposed on him, I doubt he would have a ton of sympathy.
Probably not, but it's a totally different situation. Lowry addressed the ball, and thus, it was automatic. He called the penalty on himself immediately, and asked the official only whether he had to replace the ball, or hit from where it ended up. In this case, they are legtimately going to fuck DJ in the ass.
 

Dave Stapleton

Just A Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Oct 11, 2001
7,185
Norfolk, MA
Probably not, but it's a totally different situation. Lowry addressed the ball, and thus, it was automatic. He called the penalty on himself immediately, and asked the official only whether he had to replace the ball, or hit from where it ended up. In this case, they are legtimately going to fuck DJ in the ass.
And the problem is they then went up to him after and said they might assess him a penalty after the round. So DJ needs to carry that in his round.