- Dec 24, 2002
No, it actually should have been - you are spot on and I had to look it up.I thought that was a technical, but I'm probably wrong.
I mean, Anderson was where a player almost never is on an inbound. I dont begrudge those who were a little uneasy with Smart not looking at where he was throwing the ball before he did so but Anderson was in a place where he couldn't really legally make a play (it looked close because he literally came from right in front of Smart under the basket and stepped inbounds in the process).
Here is the rule for those who care:
Section III-The Throw-In
a. The throw-in starts when the ball is at the disposal of a player entitled to the throw-in. He shall release the ball inbounds within 5 seconds from the time the throw-in starts. Until the passed ball has crossed the plane of the boundary, no player shall have any part of his person over the boundary line and teammates shall not occupy positions parallel or adjacent to the baseline if an opponent desires one of those positions. The defensive man shall have the right to be between his man and the basket.