11/3-11/6 Game Thread: Mourning in Leicester

Kliq

Member
SoSH Member
Mar 31, 2013
9,552
Wolverhampton’s keeper has been great this second half. A great series of saves to avoid getting blown out.
 

lars10

Well-Known Member
Silver Supporter
SoSH Member
Jul 31, 2007
5,213
Referee's association says the goal should have stood.
Honest question.. but after all of the talk isn't Mane still off no the initial call? Because he didn't initially fully go off the ball...was still running towards it and then also acts as a distraction after since the keeper has to worry about the pass?

He's not off after the ball goes off the crossbar, but his entire positioning before the ball goes off the crossbar effects the run of play even if he wasn't passed to.
 

swiftaw

Member
SoSH Member
Jan 31, 2009
1,934
The ball off the crossbar starts a new phase of play, so not offside.

I think it has to be done that way else you’d have arguments about how far back you have to check for offside calls.

Unless of course you go back to the old rules in which offside is always called even if you aren’t involved in the play.
 
Last edited:

lars10

Well-Known Member
Silver Supporter
SoSH Member
Jul 31, 2007
5,213
The ball off the crossbar starts a new phase of play, so not offside.

I think it has to be done that way else you’d have arguments about how far back you have to check for offside calls.

Unless of course you go back to the old rules in which offside is always called even if you aren’t involved in the play.
But he was called off on the initial ball, no? Of the flag only went up after he shot? IMO the play was off because Mane was involved in the play from the beginning but I’m also biased.
 

swiftaw

Member
SoSH Member
Jan 31, 2009
1,934
But he was called off on the initial ball, no? Of the flag only went up after he shot? IMO the play was off because Mane was involved in the play from the beginning but I’m also biased.
Yes, but he wasn’t involved in the original play (although he was standing in an offside position). He only got involved after that ball came back off the crossbar, at which point he wasn’t offside.
 

jkempa

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Mar 30, 2004
7,921
Berlin
Palace barely touching the ball, but somehow have drawn even with Chelsea. I’ll take it.
 

lars10

Well-Known Member
Silver Supporter
SoSH Member
Jul 31, 2007
5,213
Yes, but he wasn’t involved in the original play (although he was standing in an offside position). He only got involved after that ball came back off the crossbar, at which point he wasn’t offside.
Yeah..I'm disagreeing a bit in that I think since he's standing there the keeper has to play the pass as well as the shot so he is effecting the play before the shot and his team gained an advantage from him being off... also he did try to go to play the initial ball..his teammate just beat him to it. It's not like he was in a completely passive position until the ball hit the bar imo.