Yo! You're not logged in. Why am I seeing this ad?

Photo

Blu Ray Player Recommendations

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 riboflav

• 3,405 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 08:35 PM

Tech novice here...

As part of our effort to cut the cord on cable, the wife and I are looking for a blu ray player that is good at streaming video from Netflix and also has MLB.tv, etc. We bought a Panasonic plasma tv about a few months before they came out with Internet connection capabilities, so we figure getting a blu ray player is the affordable way to be able to stream stuff on our tv, but please correct me if I'm wrong.  We currently own just a Sony dvd player.

Also, I've heard and read that streaming video can have buffering and hesitation issues. Any way (e.g. increase Internet speed) to avoid that or does that just come with the territory? I tried watching hulu on my mac a couple years ago and this was the issue. It annoyed me greatly.

#2 Boston Brawler

• 4,730 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 08:56 PM

CNET is a great place to start reading quality reviews (as far as I know) for most popular Blu Ray players. Some even have a video review accompany it. This is where I did my research for my current Blu Ray player (Panasonic DMP-BDT220). I have Netflix streaming through it, never have had any issues with buffering, and I just have a normal wi fi home network and the base speed through Time Warner Cable. Very rarely I have issues getting the initial connection to happen with Netflix, but a quick restart of the DVD player solves this.

http://reviews.cnet....lu-ray-players/

#3 The Allented Mr Ripley

• holden

• 9,173 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 10:26 PM

I have an LG BD-670, it streams Netflix, MLB.tv, Hulu, Youtube, etc. No buffering issues, once in a while it gets wonky but rebooting it always sets it right.

#4 Scott Cooper's Grand Slam

• 558 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 11:02 PM