Yo! You're not logged in. Why am I seeing this ad?

SOSH

OK we're back on our main server.  It was taking a super long time to move *everything* back just to save a day's worth of messages.  I've been at this all day now and need to get back to my real job so.,... sorry.  Working on a better plan in case this happens again.  nip

Photo

Calling Out an Opposing Coach

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Bigpupp

• 703 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:13 PM

I'm currently in my second year coaching an 8th grade girls basketball team and let me start out by saying that the team I'm coaching is horrible. I have a team full of first year players and have been playing against schools that feed into a state championship level high school team. Big losses are expected (and have been happening) but until tonight the opposing coaches have been wonderful about pulling their starters and stopping their press so both teams can work on something. I've been quick to thank these coaches for doing this and they have just said, "Do the same for us if we have a down year."

Tonight was quite different. Our "B" team was playing and was getting slaughtered (per the normal) but the opposing coach kept their press on. Through 3 full quarters the score was 50-1 and they still had their starters in.

After it was clear that the press would continue through the end of the game I went to the end of my coaching box and told the coach in the most civil way possible that he has done a good job coaching the press and now he needs to coach good sportsmanship. The coach simply said, "We don't let up" and kept pressing. From there I said a few more things throughout the game (nothing that would get me a technical) and that was it.

Has this ever happened to anyone? If so, what did you do? What did you tell your kids who, obviously embarrassed, want nothing more than to play that team again (which we have to do in a few weeks)?