Yo! You're not logged in. Why am I seeing this ad?
basketball foul call question
Posted 26 January 2012 - 11:01 PM
Posted 27 January 2012 - 06:46 AM
In my sons basketball game tonight, the teams got screwed up in the second half and the other team ended up taking a shot at our teams basket. In doing so, he was fouled. The refs awarded the player shooting at the wrong basket 2 shots. Did the refs make the right decision or should the other team have been given the ball out of bounds? My logic is that the player wasn't shooting at his own basket, therefore no shots should have been awarded. Any refs that can answer this?
Wrong from at least one point of view, and depending upon your level of play, quite possibly two.
1) If the player is not attempting to shoot at the correct basket, it is not a shooting foul.
2) If the referee determined that the player *was* attempting to shoot, at most levels of play the result would be three free throws, not two.
Posted 27 January 2012 - 06:48 AM
Posted 27 January 2012 - 06:49 AM
I'm not a ref, but a high school coach. It's not a shooting foul. However, it's a foul. So, if the shooter's team is in the bonus, he gets to shoot the 1 and 1 or, depending on what number foul it is, 2 shots. Another issue I've seen in youth leagues is that the team that shoots at the wrong basket usually has committed a back court violation in the process of going the wrong way. The call is often missed.
Posted 27 January 2012 - 07:39 AM
- Two points for the other team.
- The kid then shoots one-and-one for his own team.
Very strange situation for sure.
Posted 27 January 2012 - 10:33 AM
Posted 27 January 2012 - 04:52 PM
Posted 03 February 2012 - 01:57 PM
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users