Yo! You're not logged in. Why am I seeing this ad?

Photo

Sox Draft Chris Hernandez, LHP, Miami (FL) - 7th Round --> Huge Sleeper

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 Velocity3107

• 12 posts

Posted 08 June 2010 - 03:13 PM

As a UM student I have had the pleasure of watching Herndandez throughout all three of his college seasons since our Freshman years coincided.

Off the bat, I know he's going to be a good pro. This kid was dominating the best college hitters in the country, on national television, as a true freshman, for the #1 team in the country as the Friday night starter. He was named the national freshman of the year for college baseball.

He shows tremendous poise on the mound, with great control. He is great at painting corners though he does mysteriously come undone for an inning every game or so and hit a guy. Even when this happens, he is able to re-gain his focus and get a double play ball to get out of the inning. The kid is an absolute robot.

His main fastball tops out at around 91-92 (avg. 89) with a LOT of cut towards a right handed hitter and downward movement. It is a cutter. There is no mistaking it. He also throws an upper 70's, low 80's changeup as his strikeout pitch and ocassionaly mixes in a decent curveball. But mainly, right now he's a cutter/changeup guy who mixes speed and hits corners with about 8-12 MPH separation between the pitches.

He also has a plus pickoff move and is very good at controlling the opposition's running game.

By The Numbers
2008: 11-0, 2.72 ERA, 112 IP, 18 BB, 117 K, 99 GB, 48 FB
2009: 7-5, 4.76 ERA, 90 IP, 31 BB, 93 K, 117 GB, 40 FB
2010: 10-3, 2.76 ERA, 99 IP, 32 BB, 106 K, 142 GB, 59 FB