I've seen a few scoring questions sprinkled throughout this forum, maybe we can use this thread to discuss any scoring questions.
Anyhow, let me start of with one. I think I know the answer (unless someone tells me I'm wrong), but I have a dad on my son's team that disagrees. I've shown him the scoring rule book from MLB official rules - scoring
, and he thinks I'm not interpreting it correctly.
Here's the situation: Runner on 1st, less than 2 outs. Batter hits a line drive/fly ball into the gap in right/center field, everyone can tell it's going to fall in for a hit. Except the runner on 1st, is afraid of getting doubled up if the centerfielder makes a diving catch, so he stays about 3 steps from 1st base. Ball falls in, the runner is thrown out at 2nd base on a force out.
I am 99% sure, the hitter (unfairly) only gets credit for hitting into a fielder's choice and his batting average drops.
The dad of the player who lost the hit is quoting rule 10.05 (b) (3) which says:
and is keying in on the fact that it specifically says P,C, or infielder, and therefore excludes outfielders. So if it is the outfielder which handles the ball then this rule does not apply (he says).
However, I'm quoting rule 10.05 (b) (1) which says:
He thinks the rules contradict each other, and you have to apply them together, therefore crediting a hit to the batter. I'm pointing out the difference being that rule (1) talks about a FORCE out, and rule (3) does not necessarily apply to force plays.
Anyhow, if anybody thinks I am incorrect and the hitter should get a hit, please let me know. If you agree that the hitter only gets a fielder's choice, what I am looking for is a link to an online play-by-play account where this has happened in an MLB game. (e.g. "Ramirez hits into a fielder's choice to centerfielder. Ortiz forced out at second base"). I've googled the crap out of this, found a few other message boards that discuss this situation but nothing official and my friend won't believe me until I have concrete proof.
The rules don't contradict each other because it's a set of "or" clauses:
(b) The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a:
(1) runner is forced out by a batted ball, or would have been forced out except for a fielding error;
(2) batter apparently hits safely and a runner who is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner fails to touch the first base to which such runner is advancing and is called out on appeal. The official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat but no hit;
(3) pitcher, the catcher or any infielder handles a batted ball and puts out a preceding runner who is attempting to advance one base or to return to his original base, or would have put out such runner with ordinary effort except for a fielding error. The official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat but no hit;
(4) fielder fails in an attempt to put out a preceding runner and, in the scorer's judgment, the batter-runner could have been put out at first base; or
(5) runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter-runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.
So, if any of 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 happens, it's not a base hit. Number 1 happened, so it's not a base hit.
That will be $67.50 please.
EDIT: More to the point, if a father is going to bitch about the statistical significance of a single base hit scorekeeping decision, it's clear that his priorities are not in order. In this case, his priority apparently should have been a remedial English class.
EDIT THE SECOND: Bonus points if you can figure out the situation contemplated by (3) but not (1).
Edited by Myt1, 22 June 2009 - 11:11 AM.