Dismiss Notice
Guest, I have a big favor to ask you. We've been working very hard to establish ourselves on social media. If you like/follow our pages it would be a HUGE help to us. SoSH on Facebook and Inside the Pylon Thanks! Nip

MLB/MLBPA discussing '19/'20 rule changes: Universal DH/no sept callups/3 batter rule

Discussion in 'Red Sox Forum' started by soxhop411, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. charlieoscar

    charlieoscar Member

    If he meant that, why did he not say it? In fact, he was responding to uncannymanny inquiring about the NL--"If the NL teams are so enamored with 'strategy' let them choose each game whether they want to use the lineup spot for a DH or a pitcher. Prediction: NL teams would quickly stop using their pitchers to hit."
  2. uncannymanny

    uncannymanny Well-Known Member Gold Supporter SoSH Member

    The poster did say the “existing DH rule,” which only applies to the AL. I understood perfectly well.

    Anyway, the DH rule is kind of fascinating. I knew most of the cases of how the DH is forfeited during play via substitutions, but there’s a bunch of quirky stuff in there I didn’t know.

    This seems superfluous since a player in the lineup can’t really “pinch run” anyway:

    The active pitcher can be substituted for the DH:

    What is this about?

  3. twosevenkid

    twosevenkid lurker

    If they are trying to speed up the pace of play, doesn't forcing the National League use a DH kind of counter this? Meaning, rather than an automatic out with a pitcher, they'll increase the likelyhood someone gets on base and extend the inning(s)?
  4. Pandarama

    Pandarama lurker

    I assume it is/was aimed at Earl Weaver.

    Weaver used to like to surprise the other manager by not revealing the actual DH until his spot came up in the lineup. The DH listed on the lineup card would be a pitcher who would be a placeholder for the guy who would “pinch hit” for him in his first plate appearance. This is the reason the rule now requires the DH to make one plate appearance.
  5. Rough Carrigan

    Rough Carrigan reasons within Reason Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Yeah, but aren't there also extra pitching changes in the NL to deal with the pitcher's slot in the batting order? A starting pitcher's going along okay, he's given up 3 runs through 6 innings but his team hasn't done anything at bat. He hasn't thrown many pitches and actually pitched better in the 5th and the 6th. But now his spot in the batting order is coming up again, so he gets pulled for a pinch hitter in the NL but in the AL he might have stayed in the game.
  6. Red(s)HawksFan

    Red(s)HawksFan Member SoSH Member

    If a pitcher is removed for a pinch hitter, that doesn't really add any time to the game. There's no timeout needed to allow for the hitter to jog in from the bullpen, no need for warm-ups, etc...he's just announced and goes to the plate same as any other hitter. And the reliever that enters afterward is warming up during the break, when the starter would have been doing the same anyway.

    That's not pace of play, that's length of play. Two different things. If the team in the field can't get the other team out, there's nothing that can be done to shorten the game absent run limits and mercy rules. That's never going to happen at the professional level.
  7. charlieoscar

    charlieoscar Member

    Apparently you don't because I quoted the rule book from mlb.com and it applies to minor leagues as well.

Share This Page