Dismiss Notice
Guest, I have a big favor to ask you. We've been working very hard to establish ourselves on social media. If you like/follow our pages it would be a HUGE help to us. SoSH on Facebook and Inside the Pylon Thanks! Nip

11/3-11/6 Game Thread: Mourning in Leicester

Discussion in 'Breakfast with Gazza (with Sachmoneious Bullcrap)' started by 67YAZ, Nov 3, 2018.

  1. PedroSpecialK

    PedroSpecialK Comes at you like a tornado of hair and the NHL sa Silver Supporter SoSH Member

    Messages:
    23,368
    Another incorrect offside call on an easily VAR-able instance denies Wolves a goal
     
  2. Kliq

    Kliq Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    8,365
    Wolverhampton’s keeper has been great this second half. A great series of saves to avoid getting blown out.
     
  3. lars10

    lars10 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter SoSH Member

    Messages:
    4,391
    Honest question.. but after all of the talk isn't Mane still off no the initial call? Because he didn't initially fully go off the ball...was still running towards it and then also acts as a distraction after since the keeper has to worry about the pass?

    He's not off after the ball goes off the crossbar, but his entire positioning before the ball goes off the crossbar effects the run of play even if he wasn't passed to.
     
  4. swiftaw

    swiftaw Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    1,851
    The ball off the crossbar starts a new phase of play, so not offside.

    I think it has to be done that way else you’d have arguments about how far back you have to check for offside calls.

    Unless of course you go back to the old rules in which offside is always called even if you aren’t involved in the play.
     
    #54 swiftaw, Nov 4, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2018
  5. lars10

    lars10 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter SoSH Member

    Messages:
    4,391
    But he was called off on the initial ball, no? Of the flag only went up after he shot? IMO the play was off because Mane was involved in the play from the beginning but I’m also biased.
     
  6. OilCanShotTupac

    OilCanShotTupac Sunny von Bulow Gold Supporter SoSH Member

    Messages:
    16,071
    A penalty goal aside, City-Southampton is as competitive as USA-Grenada
     
  7. swiftaw

    swiftaw Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    1,851
    Yes, but he wasn’t involved in the original play (although he was standing in an offside position). He only got involved after that ball came back off the crossbar, at which point he wasn’t offside.
     
  8. jkempa

    jkempa Well-Known Member Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    7,699
    Palace barely touching the ball, but somehow have drawn even with Chelsea. I’ll take it.
     
  9. teddykgb

    teddykgb Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    6,724
    I’d be driven to drink by that goal you just conceded. Truly abject defending and keeper play
     
  10. jkempa

    jkempa Well-Known Member Lifetime Member SoSH Member

    Messages:
    7,699
    And back to reality and a 3-1 scoreline.
     
  11. lars10

    lars10 Well-Known Member Silver Supporter SoSH Member

    Messages:
    4,391
    Yeah..I'm disagreeing a bit in that I think since he's standing there the keeper has to play the pass as well as the shot so he is effecting the play before the shot and his team gained an advantage from him being off... also he did try to go to play the initial ball..his teammate just beat him to it. It's not like he was in a completely passive position until the ball hit the bar imo.
     

Share This Page